Beautiful and challenging texts in Seville: Territorios, Feria del Libro y M15

24/05/2011 at 13:25 Leave a comment

 

One of the not-to-be-missed events in Seville is the annual Territorios: Festival Internacional de Musica de los Pueblos. Diverse music, relatively cheap tickets and a location which is simply poetic!

What I love most about Territorios is the joy of discovering new music …. and my discovery band for this year is Miss Caffeina.  The video I post here does no justice in comparison to seeing them live: 

My number one not-to-be-missed band, as in find a good spot next to the mixing tower 15 mins before they start was the Asian Dub Foundation.  And I was not dissapointed! Give me their music and I dance on the spot … and speaking of revolution, their music could not be more apt to what is currently taking place in Spain (Movimiento 15-M). 

I was slightly dissappointed with Sr. Chinarro.  I was too far away from the stage and the acoustics were not that good.  I discovered his music through an interview with Buenafuente  and I really like his music.  Sr. Chinarro is very well known.  We are not talking about a junior here and let me be precise: I do not mean that he played badly or anything, I just could not connect with his music at Territorios.  But of course, needless to say, I will be looking for his music. 

These days Seville is wrapped with a beautiful and challenging texts. In Plaza Nueva, the Feria del Libro is taking place this week.  And in Plaza de Encarnación, the Movimiento 15 continues …I must admit, I am curious to see where this will lead to … it is definately a breath of fresh air from the typical Spanish botellon …

Translation:

Uno de los eventos para no perderse en Sevilla es Territorios. Música diversa, entradas relativamente baratas y un emplazamiento sencillamente poético.

Lo que más me gusta de Territorios es la ilusión por descubrir nueva música… y el mejor descubrimiento de este año ha sido “Miss Cafeína”. El vídeo no hace justicia en comparación con el directo.

Mi opción número uno para ver en directo (encontrando un buen sitio junto a la torre de mezclas 15 minutos antes de empezar) era “Asia Dub Foundation”. ¡Y no decepcionó! Con su música me pongo a bailar en cualquier sitio. Y hablando de “Revolution”, su música no podía ser más adecuada con lo que se está llevando a cabo en España (Movimiento 15-M).

Tengo que admitir que me decepcionó un poco la actuación de “Sr. Chinarro”. Estaba muy lejos del escenario y la acústica no era muy buena. Descubrí su música a través de una entrevista con Buenafuente y me gustó mucho. El es muy conocido. No estamos hablando de un novato y quiero ser precisa: No quiero decir que tocó mal. Al revés. Simplemente no pudo conectar en Territorios con su música. Pero, por supuesto, voy a seguir buscando su música.

En estos días Sevilla está cubierta con textos hermosos y desafiantes. En la Plaza Nueva, esta semana la Feria del libro; y en la Plaza de la Encarnación, el movimiento 15 continúa. Debo admitir que siento curiosidad por ver a dónde nos llevará esto… es, sin duda, un soplo de aire fresco al típico botellón.

Entry filed under: cultura, sevilla. Tags: , , , .

Which hairstyle? Comedias románticas

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other subscribers