Just a little bit of quinoa …

18/04/2011 at 23:18 Leave a comment

This morning I woke up with a craving for a delicious healthy breakfast.  I flipped through a sports magazine I bought some time ago, and came across this recipe for breakfast with quinoa. Fifteen minutes later, I had my quinoa already on low fire.  As I was waiting the 20 minutes recommended cooking time, I started browsing online for quinoa recipes.  I also had to search whether I should have rinsed the quinoa before I started cooking it.  After reading a couple of articles on how important it is to clean the quinoa, due to a chemical used to keep birds away from the crop, I decided to throw away what I already had in the pot, and start from scratch.

In the meantime, I came across some interesting recipes with quinoa.  In particular, I am really happy I came across this really nice blog through this recipe.  Reading the author´s description of quinoa makes you want to have quinoa for breakfast everyday.  The blog is also great for anyone who wants to include more cereals, grains and beans to their diet.

My little research on quinoa also brought me to this book ChefMD’s Big Book of Culinary Medicine: A Food Lover’s Road Map To Losing Weight, Preventing Disease, Getting Really Healthy, which is already in my Amazon basket.  In this book, Dr John La Puma explores the food we should keep in our pantry, as a way of preventing us opting for medicine from our medicine chest.

Going back to my delicous healthy breakfast: as soon as the quinoa was ready (mine took less than 20 minutes), I let it cool slightly.  In the meantime, I chopped some lovely strawberries and some blackberries and mixed them with the quinoa.  To my liking, the mixture looked slightly dry, so I added two tablespoons of Greek yoghurt and a teaspoon of blackberries marmalade.  Finally, some chopped walnuts and voilá.  The result: delicious healthy breakfast and a day full of energy.

Entry filed under: gastronomia. Tags: , , .

Floating parties … the latest fad? Lights, action: click !

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers


